Another Way to Evaluate

If you owned a very successful business and needed an outstanding C.E.O. perhaps you would offer him or her a $200,000 annual salary (or even higher) plus a good benefits package. In return, you would expect a very high level of commitment to your company. Your C.E.O. would be willing to give you that kind of commitment. He or she would view that as only reasonable and willingly make the commitment (and probably pretty much be available 24/7). How is it, then, that Someone has done more for us who are born again than anyone else would or could ever do and we not give Him a far greater level of commitment? A person wouldn’t be likely to play at a lucrative position like the one offered by our hypothetical company. How many who profess to be true believers only play at Christianity? Isn’t it time to be sure we have our priorities right? “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service” (Romans 12:1). What would happen, if we Christians took our relationship with Jesus that seriously? Frances R. Havergal understood the implications. In her hymn, “Take My Life and Let It Be,” she wrote, “Take my life and let it be consecrated, Lord, to Thee; take my hands and let them move at the impulse of Thy love, at the impulse of Thy Love. Take my feet and let them be swift and beautiful for Thee; take my voice and let me sing always, only, for my King, always, only, for my King. Take my lips and let them be filled with messages for Thee; take my silver and my gold, not a mite would I withhold, not a mite would I withhold. Take my love, my God, I pour at Thy feet its treasure store; take myself and I will be ever, only, all for Thee, ever, only, all for Thee.” Selah! Who can guess what the Holy Spirit might do with Christians who make this kind of commitment? Perhaps we should make the commitment and see!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com  

1 thought on “Another Way to Evaluate

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.