Galatians 2:20 and Us

In light of yesterday’s article, Let’s take a close look at Galatians 2:20. It has much to say to us who are born again. “I” This is our self life. It is all that we are “in Adam,” and apart from Christ. It is me, myself and I. “I am crucified.” “Am” The tense in the Greek indicates something that happened in the past but has continuous action in the present. We, who are saved, were crucified and are being crucified. Legally, judicially, our self life was crucified; declared dead. However, our self life is in need of daily being put to death (i.e; crucified). “With Christ.” The legal aspect happened at the Cross. We were removed from Adam, legally, and were placed in Christ. We went from spiritual death to Spiritual life. Death in Adam is no longer our condition. “Nevertheless I live.” “Self” still has influence on us because it is dying in us slowly. Crucifixion is a slow painful death. “Yet notIbut Christ liveth in me.” His Presence in us is empowering us to apply daily crucifixion to the old self life; the flesh. “And the life which I now live, I live by the faith of the Son of God.” Faith comes from God’s Word into our daily lives. Power comes from the Scripture into us as we apply it and obey it. “So then, faith cometh by hearing and hearing by the Word of God.” (From Romans 10:17). “The Son of God Who loved me and gave Himself for me.” This gives us the motivation to draw the needed strength from Him to crucify the lingering remains of our old self life.. Selah! We were taken out of “Adam;” now “Adam” needs to be taken out of us!  Ron

1 thought on “Galatians 2:20 and Us

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.