Tasting the Fruit

Did you notice, in yesterday’s article, that Galatians 5:22 spoke of fruit (singular)? It did not refer to fruits (plural). The reason this “fruit” is so unique is because it’s nine fruits in one! The first taste is “love!” When we truly begin to understand how much He loves us, and our hearts full of gratitude overflow with love for Him, we’ve had our first taste of His fruit. Can I urge you to partake faithfully of being loved and responding with love? Don’t stop until that glorious love permeates your entire being, day by day! This can only be better understood when we open our hearts and lives to Jesus as our Savior and Lord. If you have already feasted on this love, you have started to taste “joy.” This “joy” isn’t a temporary and pleasant excitement, it is a deep-seated “heart satisfaction” that is constant and wonderful through all of life’s “ups and downs.” Peter spoke of this part of the fruit in I Peter 1:8. Think on what he wrote: “Whom having not seen, ye love; in Whom, though now ye see (Him) not, yet believing, ye rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory.” Barney Elliott Warren gives us a musical look at this part of the fruit: “I have found His grace in all complete, He supplieth every need; While I sit and learn at Jesus’ feet, I am free, yes, free indeed. I have found the pleasure I once craved, it is joy and peace within; what a wondrous blessing, I am saved from the awful gulf of sin. I have found that hope so bright and clear, living in the realm of grace; oh, the Savior’s Presence is so near,  I can see His smiling face. I have found the joy no tongue can tell, how its waves of glory roll; it is like a great o’erflowing well, springing up within my soul. It is joy unspeakable and full of glory, full of glory, full of glory; it is joy unspeakable and full of glory, oh, the half has never yet been told.” (From the hymn, “Joy Unspeakable“). Selah! In John 10:10, Jesus spoke of abundant life in Himself. A major part of this abundance comes from this amazing fruit!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

