The Power of Darkness

Our title today is taken from Colossians 1:13. It speaks of a condition into which we were born. The reference, of course, is to spiritual darkness. We hear comparatively little preaching (or teaching) on this subject. Christians believe it exists and that they have been freed from it. This is true, but (usually) it is not given much thought. This is probably because spiritual darkness cannot be seen in the way that physical darkness is seen. When we are born, we have no Spiritual light. When we become exposed to Spiritual Truth, Spiritual light begins to penetrate this overwhelming darkness. As we respond positively to and come to understand Spiritual Truth, more light and understanding is given. In other words, if we are willing to believe God’s Word and surrender to Jesus as Savior and Lord, we are taken out of spiritual darkness and placed in the Kingdom of His dear Son. The more of His Word that we internalize, the more “Light’ and understanding we experience. “The entrance of thy words giveth light; it giveth understanding unto the simple” (Psalm 119:130). Then, we begin to comprehend how really dark is the “blackness” of spiritual darkness. Having said that, the fact remains that this world is completely enveloped in this darkness and under its sway. Our responsibility is to shine God’s Word into this darkness and expose the rule of the prince of darkness and offer rescue to whosoever will receive it. In Philippians 2:15-16a, Paul made it clear that we must be: “….blameless and harmless, the sons of God, without rebuke, in the midst of a crooked and perverse nation, among whom ye shine as lights in the world; holding forth the word of life.” William T. Sleeper’s hymn, “Jesus, I come,” expresses well, this available rescue: “Out of my bondage, sorrow and night, Jesus, I come, Jesus, I come; into Thy freedom, gladness and light, Jesus, I come to Thee. Out of my sickness into Thy health, out of my want and into Thy wealth, out of my sin and into Thyself, Jesus, I come to Thee. Out of my shameful failure and loss,  Jesus, I come, Jesus, I come; into the glorious gain of Thy cross, Jesus, I come to Thee. Out of earth’s sorrows into Thy balm, out of life’s storms and into Thy calm, out of distress to jubilant psalm, Jesus, I come to Thee. Out of unrest and arrogant pride, Jesus, I come, Jesus, I come; into Thy blessed will to abide, Jesus, I come to Thee. Out of myself to dwell in Thy love, out of despair into raptures above, upward for aye on wings like a dove, Jesus, I come to Thee. Out of the fear and dread of the tomb, Jesus I come, Jesus I come; into the joy and light of Thy home, Jesus, I come to Thee. Out of the depths of ruin untold, into the peace of Thy sheltering fold, ever Thy glorious face to behold, Jesus, I come to Thee.” Selah! “….the path of the just is as the shining light, that shineth more and more unto the perfect day.” (From Proverbs 4:18).       Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

