The Work of God

God has done many works. It’s enlightening to go to “work,” “works,” “worketh,” “working,” etc. in a concordance. I suggest that there is one “work” at the center of all other work. Let’s back up to before creation. Just why did God create this world and our atmospheric heaven(s)? Two passages provide important clues: Revelation 13:8 reveals that Jesus was: “….the Lamb slain from the foundation of the world.” Ephesians 1:4 informs us that: “….He hath chosen us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before Him in love.” Love seeks an object. God could have made us a robot without a free will. We would be programmed to serve Him. No emotion, no desire, no choice, we would be made to do His will. By allowing us a free will, we are able to choose to love Him, yield to Him, worship Him, serve Him, honor Him, thank Him and enjoy a magnificent relationship with Him. God knew that man would fall and that Jesus would have to die to atone for our sin(s). He created us, knowing that!  Why? He loved us! Those who receive Jesus as Lord and Savior gratefully respond to His love and love Him, more and more. In John 6:29, Jesus said: “….This is the work of God, that ye believe on Him Whom He hath sent.” All who have responded in real trust can identify with James G. Small’s hymn, “I’ve Found a Friend.” His testimony was: “I’ve found a friend, O such a friend! Christ loved me ere I knew Him. He drew me with the cords of love, and thus He bound me to Him; and round my heart still closely twine those ties which naught can sever, for I am His, and Christ is mine, forever and forever. I’ve found a friend, O such a friend!  He bled, He died to save me; and not alone the gift of life, but His own self He gave me; naught that I have my own I call, I hold it for the Giver; my heart, my strength, my life, my all are His, and His forever. I’ve found a friend, O such a friend! All pow’r to Him is given, to guard me on my onward course, and bring me safe to heaven: th’ eternal glories gleam afar to nerve my faint endeavor; so now to watch, to work, to war, and then to rest forever. I’ve found a friend, O such a friend! So kind and true and tender, so wise a counselor and guide, so mighty a defender!  From Him who loves me now so well what pow’r my soul can sever? Shall life or death or earth or hell? No, I am his forever!” Selah! “We love Him, because He first loved us” (I John 4:19)! No one has ever cared for us like Jesus did and does!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com



Leave a Reply

