Our Control Center

One very important part of our humanity is our soul. This is the seat of mind, emotions and will. It is our heart (our control center). It seems to work something like this: outside or external stimuli is received in the brain. From there, it reaches the mind (our inner self or heart). Next, it stirs the emotions. Finally, the will must make a decision. It must choose between right and wrong. While the spirit is still dead to God, the will most often gives in to its sinful desires. When our spirits receive the life of God, Satan loses much of his use of our control center. Nevertheless, he fights to retain every inch of the ground that he has held. Now, however, God begins to take over control. He begins renewing our minds by the transforming power of His Word. As this progresses, our desires begin to be purified; our emotions start to become centered in our Loving Savior and our love for Him. Our wills start to choose God’s way and His will. If we fail to spend quality time with God each day and fail to internalize His word, Satan is quick and clever to retake some of our minds, emotions and wills. This is why we must be: “Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ” (II Corinthians 10:5). As we use God’s means, the devil loses more and more of his grip on our lives. Let our determination be that of Judson W. Van De Venter that is found in his hymn, “I Surrender All.” Let our commitment be: “All to Jesus I surrender, all to Him I freely give; I will ever love and trust Him, in His Presence daily live. All to Jesus I surrender, make me, Savior, wholly Thine; let me feel Thy Holy Spirit, truly know that Thou art mine. All to Jesus I surrender, Lord, I give myself to Thee; fill me with Thy love and power, let Thy blessing fall on me. I surrender all, I surrender all; all to Thee, my blessed Savior, I surrender all.” Selah! Constantly yielding our wills to the will of God, as we find it in His Word, will move Satan closer and closer to eviction from our lives. Let His Word discipline our wills to choose His will.   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com


Leave a Reply

