God in Humans!

When God’s Presence was in a baby’s body in a virgin’s womb, it was astounding! God was in His Son’s body, within Mary’s body. Yet, Jesus’ body was sinless. It is, in one way, even more astonishing that God would come to inhabit one who has been born again. We, who have received Jesus as Savior and Lord, still have a lot of Adam’s fallen legacy that needs to be purged out of our hearts and lives. Nevertheless, God comes to live in us! Wait! Don’t just slide over this fact! All who really know Jesus have the Almighty, Creator, God, living in their inner beings (hearts)!! God, Himself, in the Person of the Holy Spirit, is present in saved human beings! A child of God involves God in every aspect of his or her life on this earth! All we are, do, think, say, desire, look on, believe, is with God watching closely, and He doesn’t miss a thing! However, God is present to purge out sin and purify His own people. In other words, when God comes to dwell in us, He undertakes to clean out the “mess!” Just as Jesus cleansed the temple, God is cleansing our lives, removing the trash, garbage, clutter, stench, filth, etc. of our old life. This activity is part of His answer to Jesus’ prayer in John 17:15-17: “I pray not that thou shouldest take them out of the world, but that thou shouldest keep them from the evil. They are not of the world, even as I am not of the world. Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.” With His very Presence within us who belong to Him, our prayer and behavior should be a reflection of Charles H. Gabriel’s hymn, “More Like the Master.” He wrote: “More like the Master I would ever be, more of His meekness, more humility; more zeal to labor, more courage to be true, more consecration for work He bids me do. More like the Master I would live and grow; more of His love to others I would show; more self-denial, like His in Galilee, more like the Master I long to ever be. Take Thou my heart, I would be Thine alone; take Thou my heart and make it all Thine own. Purge me from sin, O Lord, I now implore, wash me and keep me Thine forevermore.” Selah! God is holy; Our lives need to be holy. Don’t resist His “cleaning house” in us.   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

