Dead is Dead!

Some things are hard to wrap our minds around. For example, how are we to understand being born and being alive physically and, at the same time, being spiritually dead? Our physical life can go on with little or no awareness of our spiritual deadness. Before we receive Jesus as Savior and Lord, we are spiritually “deader than a doornail!” Ephesians 2:1 tells us that we are, or were,  “….dead in trespasses and sins.” Dead to God; no life, no connection, no contact, bound in sin(s); these describe our deadness. Ephesians 4:18 adds to the description: “Having the understanding darkened, being alienated from the life of God through the ignorance that is in them, because of the blindness of their heart.” We are, or were, “stone dead,” spiritually! While we are spiritually dead, there is not one thing that we can do about it! God can, however! All whom He knows will receive His gracious offer of salvation will be enabled to make that decision: This is what Paul was talking about in Ephesians 2:1 when he was inspired to write: “….you (hath He quickened) who were dead.” In that sacred moment, it’s like a spark of life is given to enable our choice to be made. When we do receive Jesus as Savior and Lord, God, the Holy Spirit, enters our inner being. He brings God’s own life into us. It’s the resurrection life that raised Jesus from death and it raises us from spiritual death. We become Spiritually alive; we are restored and given new life in Christ! Will L. Thompson’s “Jesus Is All the World to Me,” offers this testimony to Jesus’ Life within: “Jesus is all the world to me, my life, my joy, my all; He is my strength from day to day, without Him I would fall: when I am sad, to Him I go; no other one can cheer me so; when I am sad, He makes me glad; He’s my friend.” Selah! Having God living in us is astounding! We hope to take a closer look at that tomorrow, God willing!  Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Dead is Dead!

  1. Christ liveth in me; Christ liveth in me;
    O! What a salvation this: that Christ liveth in me!!!
    Thanks for the reminder of this song, Pastor Ron!

Leave a Reply

