When Reality Strikes!

I’m pretty much convinced that many (maybe, most) who claim to know Jesus as Lord and Savior have not been struck with the reality of what has happened. I believe the reason for that is that we have settled for reading about it, hearing about it and learning about it. However, has it been experienced? I may learn all about some wonderful place on earth or about some really wonderful person. Nevertheless, until I go there and/or meet that person, I have only information. The information is useful, if I get to use it. Otherwise, it’s just stored in my head and/or recorded somewhere. Information about Jesus and salvation is not the experience of really knowing Him. The information must lead us to the experience, if it’s going to do us any good. I wonder if Jesus (in the flesh) was to cross the path of some who have believed the truth about Him, their response might be: There’s something very familiar about that man; I wonder who he is. The Apostle Paul knew about Jesus, but the day he met Him was one of the most revolutionary events in human history. We may never have an encounter that dramatic; we certainly should have one that is that profound. There might be a much longer time frame for us. Even so, we should be awaking to the miracle of a personal involvement with Jesus. We should be moving from the “page” to the “Person!” Paul knew about Jesus; later he exclaimed that he wanted to “….know Him, and the power of His resurrection.” (From Philippians 3:10). William C. Martin’s hymn, “Still Sweeter Every Day,” gives musical voice to the wonder of a personal engagement with Jesus: “To Jesus ev’ry day I find my heart is closer drawn; He’s fairer than the glory of the gold and purple dawn; He’s all my fancy pictured in its fairest dreams and more; each day He grows still sweeter than He was the day before. His glory broke upon me when I saw Him from afar; He’s fairer than the lily, brighter than the morning star; He fills and satisfies my longing spirit o’er and o’er; each day He grows still sweeter than He was the day before. My heart is sometimes heavy, but He comes with sweet relief; He folds me to His bosom when I droop with blighting grief, I love the Christ who all my burdens in His body bore; each day He grows still sweeter than He was the day before. The half cannot be fancied, this side the golden shore; O there He’ll be still sweeter than He ever was before.” Selah! Knowing about Him is meant to bring us to Him!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

