Heart Attitudes: Hardened in Holiness

A strange thing happens far too often. People come to Jesus, receive Him as their personal Savior and Lord, and are miraculously given Spiritual birth. They receive many blessings. These include the impartation of  Spiritual life and a “standing” of perfect righteousness before God. Then, God’s Holy Spirit, using God’s Word, begins the developing of actual holiness in their hearts and lives. As progress is being made, the enemy slyly congratulates them on their progress. They “feel” good about their progress. Slowly pride begins to creep in. An alien attitude begins to form; we might call it a Pharisaical attitude. Like the one Jesus described in Luke 18:10-12. This Pharisee was proud of his supposed holiness: “Two men went up into the temple to pray; the one a Pharisee, and the other a publican. The Pharisee stood and prayed thus with himself, God, I thank Thee, that I am not as other men are, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even as this publican. I fast twice in the week, I give tithes of all that I possess.” (Did you notice how many “I”s were expressed)? Let’s give this a modern touch: “I belong to a Bible-believing church; I serve there; I behave in a Godly way; I give; I’m sound in doctrine; I read the Bible and pray; I’m faithful in attendance; I teach, etc.” While these things are not wrong, do I take pride in them, looking down on those who haven’t come as far as I think they should have come? Wouldn’t we be better served to have the attitude that James M. Gray expressed in his hymn, “Only a Sinner?” He wrote: “Naught have I gotten but what I received; grace hath bestowed it since I have believed; boasting excluded, pride I abase;  I’m only a sinner, saved by grace! Only a sinner saved by grace! Only a sinner saved by grace! This is my story, to God be the glory—-I’m only a sinner saved by grace!” Selah! We can boast of holiness, or we can express the beauty of holiness!    Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

One thought on “Heart Attitudes: Hardened in Holiness

  1. Thank you Ron. I needed the reminder! It is so easy to start “comparing” as a gauge to feel good about myself. My “plumb line” can only be God’s word!

Leave a Reply

