Are We Guilty of a Cover-up?

I can’t picture any of my readers trying to cover-up a crime. I can imagine some of us attempting to cover-up a mistake. However, I have in mind a trap that many of us could fall into, and probably not know that we have done so. We might do a cover-up by trying to maintain an image of ourselves that we want people to see. It might go something like this: I’m orthodox in doctrine; I go to church and participate regularly; I give faithfully: I talk the way Christians should talk, etc. For all of that, what if I only have the knowledge of and belief in God’s Word, and underneath this good image I know little of, and experience little of, the reality I believe in? Am I guilty of a cover-up? It may not be an intentional cover-up. I may have the image but be lacking in substance. What a tragedy, if I should present the image to God and He doesn’t find much substance. If He removes the cover-up and finds  little or nothing underneath, wouldn’t I be ashamed? Hebrews 4:13 reminds us: “Neither is there any creature that is not manifest in His sight: but all things (are) naked and opened unto the eyes of Him with Whom we have to do.” J. Edwin Orr gives us a timely prayer in his hymn, “Search Me, O God,” in the second and third stanzas: “I praise Thee, Lord, for cleansing me from sin; fulfill Thy Word and make me pure within; fill me with fire, where once I burned with shame; grant my desire to magnify Thy name. Lord, take my life, and make it wholly Thine; fill my poor heart with Thy great love divine; take all my will, my passion, self and pride;  I now surrender, Lord, in me abide.” Selah! It isn’t so much a matter of God just waiting to expose us as it is for us to see to it that the substance is all that the image portrays.   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

One thought on “Are We Guilty of a Cover-up?

Leave a Reply

