What Did We Put on the Altar?

My computer came to me and told me what it would do for me. If that were true, I wouldn’t be pleased. I want to use my computer for my own concerns, not for what it chooses to do. When it comes to Christians versus a computer, what have we put on God’s altar? Is it our talents, our knowledge, our plans, our goals? If so, what use are we to God? I want control over my computer; God wants control over our talents, knowledge, plans and goals. In short, He wants us to place ourselves on the altar. If I maintain control of my computer, I can accomplish a lot; if God maintains control of our lives, think what He can and might accomplish. My machine has no choice in the matter. We do have a choice! We can do things our way and accomplish nothing of eternal value or we can yield to God and He will accomplish things with eternal value! It’s a matter of control. When I’m in control, what I do is a “fleshly” work. I will take pride in what I do. God will never bless that which is of the flesh! When He is in control, it’s a work of the Spirit, God, the Holy Spirit, and He gets and deserves the glory! And we “end up” blessed! This is what Paul, in Romans 12:1-2, was urging the believers at Rome to do: “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, (which is) your reasonable service, and be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what (is) that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.” Let the chorus in Charles H. Gabriel’s hymn, “More Like the Master,” be the offering of our lives: “Take Thou my heart, I would be Thine alone; take Thou my heart and make it all Thine own. Purge me from sin, O Lord, I now implore, wash me and keep me Thine forevermore.” Selah! When God’s fire strikes our self efforts, only ashes are left; when His “fire” works in and through us, pure gold emerges from the flames.     Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

 

 

One thought on “What Did We Put on the Altar?

  1. Another good one, Ron.

    Thanks for the prayers for yesterday – The service went well – the Gospel was shared – I got through it with a little stumbling. Standing room only. Oh, so many that I got to talk with – and many others that I didn’t.

Leave a Reply

