Were You There?

For the true Christian, there is an amazing reality In the words of the “spiritual,” “Were you there when they crucified my Lord? Were you there when they laid Him in the tomb? Were you there when He rose up from the dead?” The answer is: “Yes!” Not bodily there, but positionally. God identified His own as dead, buried and raised to life in the Person of Christ. This is what Paul was explaining to the church in Romans 6:3-5. He was inspired to write: “Know ye not, that so many of us as were baptized into Jesus Christ were baptized into His death? Therefore we are buried with Him by baptism into death: that like as Christ was raised up from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life. For if we have been planted together in the likeness of His death, we shall be also (in the likeness) of (His) resurrection.” When a person receives Jesus as Lord and Savior, they are reckoned dead to the old life (and are actually dying to it). When Jesus arose, we were identified with Him in this miracle of rising to a new life, the life of God. We, from the moment of genuine conversion live in and make progress in this new life of God placed within us. Water baptism is a visual illustration and a public testimony of this miracle. In Galatians 2:20, Paul gives us additional insight: “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me.” I am crucified! Based on the tense, I have been crucified way back there, once and for all, but as a result, I am constantly dying to my old life received from Adam. Now, I walk in the new life of the last Adam, Jesus. These words from D. W. Whittle’s hymn, “Moment by Moment,” expresses this amazing reality: “Dying with Jesus, by death reckoned mine; living with Jesus, a new life divine; looking to Jesus till glory doth shine, moment by moment, O Lord, I am Thine. Moment by moment I’m kept in His love; moment by moment I’ve life from above; looking to Jesus till glory doth shine; moment by moment, O Lord, I am Thine.”  Selah! God removes our “roots” from Adam and “transplants” us in Jesus. Our “roots” now draw life from Him and Spiritual fruit is the result.    Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

