The Gift of Talk

I’m spending a few days working through I Timothy 4:12. The reason is that as we are available to God, He can use us in the ways mentioned in this verse. Today, let’s look at talk: “Let no man despise thy youth; but be thou an example of the believers, in word.” This has to do with all that we say (and what we shouldn’t say). This includes teaching, conversation, stories, counseling, guidance, etc. It includes wrong attitudes that might reflect in our speech, wrong motives for what we say, actual words that we use, lying, deceit and more. Scripture has much to say about what comes out of our mouths. Psalm 19:14 should filter all wrong speech: “Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in Thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.” In other words, our speech should help, heal, comfort, challenge, correct, encourage, edify, etc. In short, we should let the beauty of Jesus be seen in the “eyes of the hearts” of those who listen to us. Would Jesus say what we might be going to say, or would He not say that? This way of life is expressed well in Mary D. James’ hymn, “All for Jesus,” in these words: “All for Jesus! All for Jesus! All my being’s ransom’d pow’rs; all my thoughts and words and doings, All my days and all my hours. All for Jesus! All for Jesus! All my days and all my hours. Let my hands perform His bidding; let my feet run in His ways; let my eyes see Jesus only; let my lips speak forth His praise. All for Jesus! All for Jesus! Let my lips speak forth His praise.” Selah! Our most important use of words is to bring His Word(s) to bear in others’ lives!    Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

 

One thought on “The Gift of Talk

  1. Thanks for this one. I would like prayer as I meet with a man Thursday night. He is looking for counseling regarding a super life changing decision he is battling. I believe it is Satanic oppression as he desperately wants to serve the Lord.

Leave a Reply

