Stagnating or Stretching?

Thinking back on yesterday’s article, being steady and consistent and always moving forward is the way of a disciple. Always looking for the exciting and dramatic leads to instability. However, for too many, being steady only means keeping the status quo, not rocking the boat, etc. We are to be steady and actively be engaged in moving forward, stretching ourselves and resisting stagnation. It is a matter of growing, gaining, and going higher. How many churches today are filled with slumbering saints at ease in Zion? I remember a preacher one time tell of a man who testified that he was “saved and sanctified.” The preacher added that the man was also petrified. Another man bragged of being “in the way” for 40 years and a sister spoke up and said, “Don’t you think it’s time that you got out of the way?” Just hanging on is not the same as growing in grace! To such, in I Corinthians 15:34, Paul was inspired to write: “Awake to righteousness, and sin not; for some have not the knowledge of God: I speak (this) to your shame.” W. Elmo Mercer gave us these timely thoughts in his hymn, “Each Step I Take:” “Each step I take my Savior goes before me, and with His loving hand He leads the way. And with each breath I whisper” I adore Thee;” Oh, what joy to walk with Him each day. At times I feel my faith begin to waver, when up ahead I see a chasm wide. It’s then I turn and look up to my Savior, I am strong when He is by my side. Each step I take I know that He will guide me; To higher ground He ever leads me on. Until some day the last step will be taken, Each step I take just leads me closer home.” Selah! If we are stagnating, we are not stretching. Let’s have Paul’s commitment in Philippians 3:13-14!       Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

One thought on “Stagnating or Stretching?

  1. I LOVE THAT SONG. THE HARMONY IS SPLENDID. WISH I COULD SING IT WITH MRS. PINKHAM RIGHT NOW, WITH HER BEAUTIFUL ALTO.

Leave a Reply

