Hey _________! You have a Call!

The phone rings (or vibrates). Someone says, “Hey, (fill in your name)! You have a call.” You pick up the phone and say, “Who’s this?” A voice answers: It’s Me, God!” If this imaginary scenario were possible and it was actually God on the line, I expect we would give Him our undivided attention. However, when we actually hear from God, why do we give Him very little attention? You might ask, “When do I hear from God?” When you open your Bible, you hear from Him! Your response might be, “I read my Bible but I don’t seem to hear a voice.” Of course you don’t, if you treat the Bible as just another book. You might scan it or read it as a very interesting book. You might study it as an important textbook. Until you realize you have entered the Presence of God and hang on His every word, you won’t hear His voice. Let’s not be like those in Matthew 15:8 that Isaiah spoke of and whom Jesus quoted: “This people draweth nigh unto Me with their mouth, and honoureth Me with (their) lips; but their heart is far from Me.” Those who are born again will learn to listen. Don’t be a slow learner! Eliza E. Hewitt’s hymn, “I Hear a Voice, ‘Tis Calling Me,” gives us a stanza that speaks to this: “I hear a voice within my soul; my Saviour seeks for full control, to lead me on to “things above,” to stronger faith, to purer love.” Selah! Approach God’s Word, quiet your heart, shut out distractions, really think on a passage or verse, then pause and realize this is what God is saying to you. Then, heed what He tells you!    Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

 

One thought on “Hey _________! You have a Call!

Leave a Reply

