Hoarded Treasure

When we think of treasure, we usually think in terms of material treasure. Each of us, who are born again, have the greatest of all treasures. We have the Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ! We have His Personal Presence, We have His wisdom, guidance, direction, peace, comfort and love, to name a few jewels. Paul gives us his evaluation of this treasure in Philippians 3:8. This is how he put it: “….I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord.” This treasure is not stored somewhere in a safe place. It is not locked up and guarded. We have instant access to this treasure! In II Corinthians 4:7 we are told: “But we have this treasure in earthen vessels….” There is enough wealth in this treasure to bless all the peoples of the earth. The supply can never be exhausted! Why then, are we far too often hoarding this treasure for ourselves? If we offer it and it is refused by many, it will be gratefully received by some. We offer; refusals are not our responsibility! Anne S. Murphy gave us the hymn, “Constantly Abiding, in which she describes this wonderful treasure: “There’s a peace in my heart that the world never gave, a peace it cannot take away; though the trials of life may surround like a cloud, I’ve a peace that has come here to stay! ll the world seemed to sing of a Savior and King, when peace sweetly came to my heart; troubles all fled away and my night turned to day, blessed Jesus, how glorious Thou art! This treasure I have in a temple of clay, while here on His footstool I roam; but He’s coming to take me some glorious day, over there to my heavenly home! Constantly abiding, Jesus is mine; Constantly abiding, rapture divine; He never leaves me lonely, whispers, oh, so kind: “I will never leave thee”—Jesus is mine.” Selah!  The more of this treasure that we share, the richer we become in the things that matter most!    Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

 

One thought on “Hoarded Treasure

Leave a Reply

