A Magic Formula?

How many pews and Bible Study gatherings are populated by virtual automatons? How many are not actually interacting with the opportunities that they are offered? We need to ask ourselves: “Am I really engaged with what I am attending?” How many sit in a church, listen to the music, the message and the Scripture, leave mostly untouched, and resume normal activity until next time? Looking back, how was I impacted, motivated to change, drawn closer to the Lord, and did I worship from the heart? Did being there actually make any practical difference? Was I satisfied with the “status quo?” Perhaps we feel good if we learn something, or hear something interesting, or something that agrees with our thinking. In other words, were my mind and emotions stimulated, while little or no progress was made, spiritually? Did I settle for knowledge only? Many are content with facts and truth only. What if there were a magic formula that would move us from knowledge only to experiential use of that knowledge? There is no such formula! There is, however, a means to make this happen! It is the redeemed, determined will of a truly saved person. A person who knows Jesus as Savior and Lord must decide to do whatever is required to grow in grace. He or she will draw strength from God and His Word to make this the number one priority in life. Have you done this? If not, will you? Carefully examine what Jesus said in Luke 10:27:  “….thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy strength, and with all thy mind…...” In this life we can’t do this perfectly, but we can make it our goal, our purpose, our direction and determined effort. Studying, applying and obeying God’s Word will gradually effect progress in Spiritually alive people. Will you pray as Fanny Crosby prayed in her hymn, “Draw Me Nearer?” She prayed: “I am Thine, O Lord, I have heard Thy voice, and it told Thy love to me; but I long to rise in the arms of faith and be closer drawn to Thee. Consecrate me now to Thy service, Lord, by the pow’r of grace divine; let my soul look up with a steadfast hope, and my will be lost in Thine. Oh, the pure delight of a single hour that before Thy throne I spend, when I kneel in prayer, and with Thee, my God, I commune as friend with friend. Draw me nearer, nearer blessed Lord, to the cross where Thou hast died; draw me nearer, nearer, nearer blessed Lord, to Thy precious, bleeding side.” Selah! The “bottom line” is: do we crave God’s sanctifying work in our lives? If so, then become deeply involved with Him!    Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

