Our Part in the Temple

Every truly born again person is a part of God’s “flesh and blood” temple! Speaking of Jesus, Ephesians 2:22 explains about this very unique temple: “In whom ye also are builded together for an habitation of God through the Spirit.” In this temple (the church), God the Holy Spirit dwells! Think carefully of the implications of this amazing Truth. Remember Jesus’ cleansing of the physical temple. God wants His temple to be clean; He also wants His Spiritual temple to be clean. Now, we who are His, know that we have been washed and cleansed with the precious blood of Jesus. Therefore, we become a part of this temple as completely clean people However, just as the ancient temple was defiled, we can take on defilement and allow uncleanness to enter our part of this temple. This has an impact on the entire temple. How can we have our uncleanness removed? Jesus still cleanses His temple! How? “Christ also loved the church, and gave Himself for it; that He might sanctify and cleanse it with the washing of water by the Word” (Ephesians 5:25b-26). Our responsibility is found in I John 1:9. “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” The hymnwriter addressed this responsibility in these words: “Search me, O God, and know my heart today, try me, O Savior, know my thoughts, I pray; see if there be some wicked way in me; cleanse me from every sin, and set me free. I praise Thee, Lord, for cleansing me from sin; fulfill Thy Word and make me pure within; fill me with fire, where once I burned with shame; grant my desire to magnify Thy name. Lord, take my life, and make it wholly Thine; fill my poor heart with Thy great love divine; take all my will, my passion, self and pride;  I now surrender, Lord, in me abide” (From the hymn, “Search Me, O God” by J. Edwin Orr). Selah God gave us some wonderful promises in II Corinthians 6:14-18. “Having therefore these promises, dearly beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit, perfecting holiness in the fear of God” (II Corinthians 7:1).            Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

One thought on “Our Part in the Temple

Leave a Reply

