Incomprehensible Agony!

It had come very near. A horrible death was about to be inflicted on Jesus. He was born to die! He lived His thirty plus years with the awareness of the impending Cross. None of us can even begin to understand what agony of soul He suffered. There would be horrible physical pain and misery but also something far worse. He did the only thing that made it possible to go through with it; He prayed! We read about it in Mark 14:32-36. It was a time of intense prayer: “And they came to a place which was named Gethsemane: and He saith to his disciples, Sit ye here, while I shall pray. And He taketh with him Peter and James and  John, and began to be sore amazed, and to be very heavy; and saith unto them, My soul is exceeding sorrowful unto death: tarry ye here, and watch. And He went forward a little, and fell on the ground, and prayed that, if it were possible, the hour might pass from Him. And He said, Abba, Father, all things are possible unto Thee; take away this cup from Me: nevertheless not what I will, but what Thou wilt.” What He agonized over was way beyond the physical torture! He agonized over having to bear, on His Holy, pure Person, all the staggering evil and corruption of all of human sin, for the entire human race, for all of time! If He didn’t do this, the entire race would be forever separated from God! Your sin(s), my sin(s) were piled upon His being and He took the punishment that would have been ours! May our grateful determination match that of Jennie E. Hussey’s, in her hymn, “Lead Me to Calvary,” She wrote: King of my life, I crown Thee now, Thine shall the glory be: lest I forget Thy thorn crowned brow, lead me to Calvary. Lest I forget Gethsemane; lest I forget Thine agony; lest I forget Thy love for me, lead me to Calvary. Selah! May we give ourselves over to Him, Who loved us so! May we crown Him King of our lives!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

 

2 thoughts on “Incomprehensible Agony!

  1. It is unimaginable what Jesus went through – bearing the sins of the world on His shoulders – besides the intense physical pain.

  2. “…Thy thorned-crowned brow…”
    “…I love Thee for wearing the thorns on Thy brow…”
    The Comforter brought those phrases to my mind Feb. 24,
    in a very comforting way. Any other hymns with
    His “thorny crown”, that you know of? Thank you, Pastor Ron.

Leave a Reply

