Soon, Now!

Jesus’ time on earth at His first coming was almost over and He was preparing His disciples for what was about to develop. Jesus was soon to be arrested, brutally treated and killed! Mark 14:25-28 records His conversation: “Verily I say unto you, I will drink no more of the fruit of the vine, until that day that I drink it new in the kingdom of God. And when they had sung an hymn, they went out into the mount of Olives. And Jesus saith unto them, All ye shall be offended because of Me this night: for it is written, I will smite the shepherd, and the sheep shall be scattered. But after that I am risen, I will go before you into Galilee.” Jesus holds out the promise of a future time when they again will share a sacred communion supper together on the victory side of the coming sorrow. They had a hymn of praise and then left for the mount of Olives. He applied this prophecy to Himself; He, their Shepherd, was going to be smitten and they, His sheep, were going to be scattered! Those tragic hours had begun to unfold. In sharing this with His men, He pointed to a future thrilling time to come. He will return to life and greet them in Galilee. In those few words their minds are guided from tragic hours to triumphant accomplishments! Robert Lowry’s hymn, “Low in the Grave He Lay,” moves our minds and hearts from the grave to the glory: “Low in the grave He lay, Jesus my Savior, waiting the coming day, Jesus my Lord! Vainly they watch his bed, Jesus my Savior, vainly they seal the dead, Jesus my Lord! Death cannot keep its prey, Jesus my Savior; He tore the bars away, Jesus my Lord! Up from the grave He arose; with a mighty triumph o’er His foes; He arose a victor from the dark domain, and He lives forever, with His saints to reign. He arose! He arose! Hallelujah! Christ arose!” Selah! The reality of that triumph is the indwelling legacy of His victory, that has been given to all who have been born again!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com
 

 

2 thoughts on “Soon, Now!

  1. Pastor Ron!
    I was just singing “Christ Arose” last night in the kitchen!
    Had some troubles today, asking Abba what song He was going to comfort me with!
    Will sing again “Christ Arose” in the kitchen tonight later!
    Also, “His Eye Is On The Sparrow”. Have you ever quoted that one?
    Thank You so very much!
    Keep ’em coming!
    Becky

Leave a Reply

