The Exposure

A place to meet, a large upper room, was made available to Jesus and His disciples. We have the record in Mark 14:18-21. “And as they sat and did eat, Jesus said, Verily I say unto you, One of you which eateth with Me shall betray Me. And they began to be sorrowful, and to say unto Him one by one, (Is) it I? and another (said, Is) it I? And He answered and said unto them, (It is) one of the twelve, that dippeth with Me in the dish. The Son of man indeed goeth, as it is written of Him: but woe to that man by whom the Son of man is betrayed! good were it for that man if he had never been born.” In that special private place, Jesus made a startling statement, “One of you which eateth with Me shall betray Me.” One by one, they asked Jesus if they were the one. Having cleverly concealed his treacherous heart, Judas was the only one who knew who the traitor was! These words of Jesus, “woe to that man by whom the Son of man is betrayed! good were it for that man if he had never been born,” must have struck Judas with an intense guilt! His eternal fate was sealed! What can we take from this account? It is that we can be identified with Jesus, be around Him, learn about Him, listen to Him, talk the talk, be engaged in His work and have our hearts far from Him! The “wheat and tares” look alike until the time of harvest. Let’s give Jesus our whole heart! James G. Small understood. This is clear from his hymn, “I’ve Found a Friend.” He wrote: “I’ve found a friend, O such a friend! (Christ) He loved me ere I knew Him. He drew me with the cords of love, and thus He bound me to Him; and round my heart still closely twine those ties which naught can sever, for I am His, and (Christ) He is mine, forever and forever. I’ve found a friend, O such a friend!  He bled, He died to save me; and not alone the gift of life, but His own self He gave me; naught that I have my own I call,  I hold it for the Giver; my heart, my strength, my life, my all are His, and His forever. I’ve found a friend, O such a friend! all pow’r to Him is given, to guard me on my onward course, and bring me safe to Heaven: th’eternal glories gleam afar to nerve my faint endeavor;  So now to watch, to work, to war, and then to rest forever. I’ve found a friend, O such a friend!  So kind and true and tender, so wise a counselor and guide, so mighty a defender! From Him who loves me now so well what pow’r my soul can sever? Shall life or death or earth or Hell? No, I am His forever.” Selah! Anything less than loving Him unconditionally renders us liable to betraying Him. The more time that we talk with Him and truly listen to Him, the more we will love Him!   Ron

 

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The Exposure

  1. Another thought provoking piece. Thank you, Ron, for sharing your gift with us. It made me think of the tension of between God’s sovereignty and foreknowledge with man’s will, as we think of Judas. Very interesting. Did God make Judas betray Jesus? Did God know Judas would betray Jesus? Was Judas born to betray Jesus? We do know it was all part of God’s plan for man’s redemption, but these other thoughts are all there for consideration.

Leave a Reply

