The Traitor

Traitors are scorned. They are considered to be despicable. They are often executed. It’s even worse when they betray a good country or an honorable leader. One man is considered the worst of all traitors. We read about him in Mark 14:10-11. In two verses, Mark identified him for all of time: “And Judas Iscariot, one of the twelve, went unto the chief priests, to betray Him unto them. And when they heard (it), they were glad, and promised to give him money. And he sought how he might conveniently betray Him.” Imagine being identified, all down through time,  as the one who betrayed Jesus. His treacherous heart was so cleverly concealed that the other eleven disciples were completely fooled. Greed? Disillusionment? We don’t know the motive. People sometimes refer to traitors as, “You Judas!” What can we draw from this? There is, within the sinful hearts of men, the possibility of betraying Jesus in some way in our daily lives. Gratitude, love, devotion and unconditional trust are the means that we have, to be steadfastly loyal. May our hearts echo the thoughts in Will L. Thompson’s hymn, “Jesus Is All the World to Me!” He expressed the thoughts of hearts which have truly been given to Jesus: “Jesus is all the world to me, my life, my joy, my all; He is my strength from day to day, without Him I would fall: when I am sad, to Him I go; no other one can cheer me so; when I am sad, He makes me glad; He’s my friend. Jesus is all the world to me, my friend in trials sore; I go to Him for blessings, and He gives them o’er and o’er: He sends the sunshine and the rain, He sends the harvest’s golden grain; sunshine and rain, harvest of grain; He’s my friend. Jesus is all the world to me,  and true to Him I’ll be; oh, how could I this friend deny when He’s so true to me? Following Him, I know I’m right, He watches o’er me day and night; following Him, by day and night; He’s my friend. Jesus is all the world to me, I want no better friend; I trust Him now, I’ll trust Him when life’s fleeting days shall end: beautiful life with such a friend,  beautiful life that has no end; eternal life, eternal joy; He’s my friend!” Selah! Jesus is the only one we can trust completely, even when we don’t understand. Let’s place total trust in the One Who is totally trustworthy!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

 

2 thoughts on “The Traitor

  1. I have posted with the following comment: “Pastor Ron’s Blog speaks of traitors and The One Who is always a True Friend. Note the words to a precious hymn – it is hard for me to understand why so many churches have thrown out hymns such as this – and substituted little “ditty’s” instead.

Leave a Reply

