Alert to the Approach

Are we lost in the details? I’m speaking about the details of our lives: things like interests, work, responsibilities, activities, etc. These things require time, effort and attention. However, in these day to day matters, do we give serious thought to how world events are playing out right before our eyes?  Jesus, in Mark 13:28-31, admonished His disciples, then and now, to be alert and prepared, so that we won’t be caught off guard: “Now learn a parable of the fig tree; When her branch is yet tender, and putteth forth leaves, ye know that summer is near: So ye in like manner, when ye shall see these things come to pass, know that it is nigh, even at the doors. Verily I say unto you, that this generation shall not pass, till all these things be done. Heaven and earth shall pass away: but My Words shall not pass away.” Consider this possible (probable?) scenario: the tender branch starting to develop leaves speaks of the rebirth of Israel as a nation. The generation that experienced this will not come to a complete end until all comes to pass that Jesus described before He spoke about the Tribulation conditions. That generation is close to passing in our time. In other words, any moment or in a few more years, the Trumpet may sound while some of us are still alive. Being alert to the approach means we won’t let the details of life distract us from being ready. Henry Ostrom gave us the hymn, “Is It the Crowning Day?” in which he conveyed how we should be ready: “Jesus may come today, glad day! glad day! And I would see my Friend; dangers and troubles would end if Jesus should come today. I may go home today, glad day! glad day! Seemeth I hear their song; hail to the radiant throng! if I should go home today. Why should I anxious be? glad day! glad day! Lights appear on the shore, storms will affright nevermore, for He is “at hand” today. Faithful I’ll be today, glad day! glad day! And I will freely tell why I should love Him so well, for He is my all today. Glad day! glad day! Is it the crowning day? I’ll live for today, nor anxious be,  Jesus my Lord I soon shall see; glad day! glad day!  Is it the crowning day?” Selah! Live our lives responsibly, guided by the principles of His Word, while keeping our eyes open and listening carefully to what He has revealed and what He will bring to our attention.      Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

One thought on “Alert to the Approach

Leave a Reply

