An Urgent Alarm

While this portion of Mark has to do with the Tribulation, and probably leading up to it, it is a significant alarm for all of time. False teachers, teachings, cults, isms, philosophies, even some denominations and not a few churches (so called) abound to mislead people. Jesus, in Mark 13:21-23, sounded the alarm to His disciples: “And then if any man shall say to you, Lo, here is Christ; or, lo, (he is) there; believe (him) not: For false Christs and false prophets shall rise, and shall shew signs and wonders, to seduce, if (it were) possible, even the elect. But take ye heed: behold, I have foretold you all things.” To escape the seduction, it is absolutely necessary to study, memorize, meditate on, probe, compare Scripture with Scripture and access teaching from proven to be reliable preachers and teachers of God’s Word. Faithfulness in these means enables us to quickly recognize the false and to not be deceived. One of the greatest evidences of a genuine Christian is his or her total commitment to study, obey and apply God’s Word. We would do well to think through the words of, “Thy Word Sheds Light upon My Path.” The unknown author gives insight as to how essential God’s Word is to us: “Thy Word sheds light upon my path; a shining light, it guides my feet; Thy righteous judgments to observe, my solemn vow I now repeat. In my distress I plead with Thee, send help according to Thy Word; accept my sacrifice of praise and make me know Thy judgments, Lord. In danger oft and nigh to death, I find Thy Law my steadfast aid. The wicked seek my overthrow, yet from Thy Truth I have not strayed. Thy precepts are my heritage, for daily they my heart rejoice; To keep thy statutes faithfully shall ever be my willing choice.” Selah! Effective use of “The Sword of the Spirit, which is the Word of God,” (Ephesians 6:17), enables us to ward off attacks, and is also a means of cutting through and disabling false teaching. Develop skill in the use of it!    Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com      

Leave a Reply

