When Life Seems Impossible

When South African Pastor Andrew Murray Andrew Murray was visiting England in 1895, he began to suffer pain from a previous back injury. While he was recuperating, his hostess told him of a woman who was in great trouble and wanted to know if he had any counsel for her. Murray said “Giver her this paper which I have been writing for my own (encouragement). It may be that she will find it helpful.”

This is what Murray wrote:

“In time of trouble, say:

First-God brought me here. It is by His will I am in this strait place. In that I will rest. Next-He will keep me in His love and give me grace in this trial to behave as His child. Then-He will make the trial a blessing, teaching me lessons He intends me to learn, and working in me the grace He means to bestow. Last-In His good time He can bring me out again- how and when He knows. I am here by God’s appointment, in His keeping, under His training, for His time.” (Source unknown).

Selah! Of course, this kind of trust and help is only for one who has come to know Jesus as Savior and Lord. Unsaved people can’t experience this and do not really believe it.  Ron

….now for a season, if need be, ye are in heaviness through manifold temptations: that the trial of your faith, being much more precious than of gold that perisheth, though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honour and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ….” (From I Peter 1:6-7).
One thought on “When Life Seems Impossible

Leave a Reply

