A Big Obstacle

Master or servant? For those who have acquired wealth, this is a very serious question. Possessing wealth can be a huge obstacle to what really matters in life. It can control our lives and give us a false sense of being very smart and important. Our ego might bask in our accomplishments and influence. Wealth can quietly and insidiously become our idol, our god! The idea of parting with our riches, or yielding them to the true God for Him to use through us, creates a “roadblock” to entering into a blessed relationship with Him. After challenging the man, who had great riches, to sell what he had and give to the poor, the initially excited individual couldn’t bring himself to accept the challenge. He left, empty and sad, rather than let go of his wealth. In Mark 10:23-27, Jesus addresses His disciples: “And Jesus looked round about, and saith unto His disciples, How hardly shall they that have riches enter into the kingdom of God! And the disciples were astonished at His words. But Jesus answereth again, and saith unto them, Children, how hard is it for them that trust in riches to enter into the kingdom of God! It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle, than for a rich man to enter into the kingdom of God. And they were astonished out of measure, saying among themselves, Who then can be saved? And Jesus looking upon them saith, With men (it is) impossible, but not with God: for with God all things are possible.” The “roadblock” can be removed, if knowing Him is more important than anything else in our lives. Fanny Crosby understood. Here is how she expressed the highest of all priorities. In her hymn, “Give Me Jesus,” she wrote: “Take the world, but give me Jesus, all its joys are but a name; but His love abideth ever, through eternal years the same. Take the world, but give me Jesus, sweetest comfort of my soul; with my Savior watching o’er me,  I can sing though billows roll. Take the world, but give me Jesus, let me view His constant smile; then throughout my pilgrim journey light will cheer me all the while. Take the world, but give me Jesus; in His cross my trust shall be, ’till, with clearer, brighter vision, face to face my Lord I see.” Selah! God can reach the “up and outers,” just as well as the “down and outers,” if they will kneel at the cross!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

 

1 thought on “A Big Obstacle

  1. Sad to say for many – riches can be an hindrance to serving God – and filling their lives with the things and pleasures of this world. But some are committed to using what they have to glorify God.

    I can remember my Dad who was fascinated by R G Letourneau and his Huge earth moving equipment run on electric motors. Dad signed up to receive his NOW paper. He gave his testimony in one issue. He started tithing 10% and soon found he had more to live on than he needed – so increased it to 20%. This went on until he was giving 90% of what he took in to the Lord’s work.

    A man I knew who ran a lumber mill and gave lumber to the Wytopitlock Baptist Church when I was building on the SS rooms and bathrooms there. He said, “Lord, if you will let me have a Cadillac to take men from the street to church, I will live meagerly and give the rest away to Your Work.” He followed through – for a time keeping his paperwork in the trunk of his Caddy. He did later built an office in town where he would hold Bible Studies and again bring men in off the street and lead them to Christ.

    So – praise God – some use their riches for God’s Glory.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.