The Cost is Very High!

In our day, especially in America, coming to Jesus is presented as easy and without much in the way of demands. Repent, believe, receive and enjoy seem to sum up our invitations to receive Jesus. Of course, if repentance, faith and receiving Jesus were explained more fully, fewer would lay claim to being saved. One man came excitedly to Jesus and Jesus brought him up short. Mark 10:17-22 relates this encounter: “And when He was gone forth into the way, there came one running, and kneeled to Him, and asked Him, Good Master, what shall I do that I may inherit eternal life? And Jesus said unto him, Why callest thou Me good? (there is) none good but one, (that is), God. Thou knowest the commandments, Do not commit adultery, Do not kill, Do not steal, Do not bear false witness, Defraud not, Honour thy father and mother. And he answered and said unto Him, Master, all these have I observed from my youth. Then Jesus beholding him loved him, and said unto him, One thing thou lackest: go thy way, sell whatsoever thou hast, and give to the poor, and thou shalt have treasure in heaven: and come, take up the cross, and follow Me. And he was sad at that saying, and went away grieved: for he had great possessions.” He hurried to Jesus, bowed the knees, asked the way to eternal life. He showed respect to Jesus, and even called Him “Good Master.” On top of this, he evidently had lived a morally upright life. The “bottom line,” however, is that he had something more important to him than Jesus. In other words, he wasn’t ready to give himself completely to Jesus. When a person comes to Jesus, he or she must have or acquire a willingness to wholly give themselves to Jesus. This doesn’t earn themselves eternal life; it is a loving, grateful response to God’s love and grace. Frances Ridley Havergal expressed this kind of response in the hymn, “Take My Life, and Let It Be,” in these words: “Take my life and let it be consecrated, Lord, to Thee. Take my moments and my days; let them flow in endless praise, let them flow in endless praise. Take my silver and my gold; not a mite would I withhold. Take my intellect and use every power as Thou shalt choose, every power as Thou shalt choose.Take my will and make it Thine; it shall be no longer mine. Take my heart it is Thine own; it shall be Thy royal throne, it shall be Thy royal throne. Take my love; my Lord, I pour at Thy feet its treasure store. Take myself, and I will be ever, only, all for Thee, ever, only, all for Thee.” Selah! Only to Jesus is due our “all” for time and eternity. Hold nothing back; Jesus didn’t!  Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Cost is Very High!

  1. With your permission, I want to include this piece in next Tuesday’s edition of the Leadership Post.

    Blessings,

    Dallas

Leave a Reply

