Jesus-His Demands

Becoming a Christian, a disciple of Jesus, is not a game nor is it like “signing up” to join a club. Neither is it likely to be valid if one supposedly receives Jesus to have things go better in their lives. The motivation must be a consciousness of our sinfulness and the sins of which we are guilty. We are ready to turn away from our sins. We come to Jesus in surrender and receive His pardon, forgiveness and cleansing. We take Him as Savior and Lord! Far too many are not told about the necessity of yielding to His control of our lives. Jesus spelled this out in no uncertain terms in Mark 8:34-35: “And when He had called the people unto Him with His disciples also, He said unto them, Whosoever will come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me. For whosoever will save his life shall lose it; but whosoever shall lose his life for My sake and the gospel’s, the same shall save it.” It couldn’t be much clearer than that! That Judson W. Van De Venter understood, is clear from his well known invitational hymn, I surrender All.” In simple understandable words, he expressed Jesus’ demands:All to Jesus I surrender, all to Him I freely give; I will ever love and trust Him, in His Presence daily live. All to Jesus I surrender, make me, Savior, wholly Thine; let me feel Thy Holy Spirit, truly know that Thou art mine. All to Jesus I surrender, Lord, I give myself to Thee; fill me with Thy love and power, let Thy blessing fall on me. I surrender all, I surrender all; all to Thee, my blessed Savior, I surrender all.” Selah! Surrender is not optional. It may take time to learn to yield, but learn we will. We come on Jesus’ terms, not ours, or we don’t come.    Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

 

   
Leave a Reply

