You Still Don’t Get It?

Jesus challenged His disciples regarding their understanding. He warned of “the leaven of the Pharisees, and of the leaven of Herod.” Leaven speaks of evil, as used here. The disciples, having forgotten to take bread and having only one loaf on the boat, assumed Jesus was talking about them not having the necessary amount of bread. Mark 8:17-21 records Jesus’ challenge: “And when Jesus knew it, He saith unto them, Why reason ye, because ye have no bread? perceive ye not yet, neither understand? have ye your heart yet hardened? Having eyes, see ye not? and having ears, hear ye not? and do ye not remember? When I brake the five loaves among five thousand, how many baskets full of fragments took ye up? They say unto Him, Twelve. And when the seven among four thousand, how many baskets full of fragments took ye up? And they said, Seven. And He said unto them, How is it that ye do not understand?” Jesus seems to be telling them (and all who know Him as Savior and Lord) to use their eyes, ears and memories to discern Spiritual Truth. Unaided, these three things will never give us understanding. However, as we are faithful and disciplined in using them, while depending on Him for discernment, we will gradually and increasingly come to understand His Word. If our attitude and prayer is like Clara H. Scott’s, in her hymn, “Open My Eyes, That I May See,” understanding will come: “Open my eyes, that I may see glimpses of truth Thou hast for me. Place in my hands the wonderful key that shall unclasp and set me free. Silently now I wait for Thee, ready, my God, Thy will to see. Open my eyes; illumine me, Spirit divine! Open my ears, that I may hear voices of truth Thou sendest clear. And while the wave notes fall on my ear, everything false will disappear. Silently now I wait for Thee, ready, my God, Thy will to see. Open my ears; illumine me, Spirit divine!” Selah! For all who are born again, faithful study, yielded hearts, prayerful dependence and disciplined effort, will yield more and more understanding. We will experience wonder, love and praise!  Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

   
Leave a Reply

