Religion Tries Again

Religion tries to change, explain away, add to or ignore the Word of God. Religion has positions to defend, and/or interests to protect. Instead of thoroughgoing study to determine what the Bible actually teaches, portions are used to attempt to validate religion’s false teachings. In Mark 8:10-13, Pharisees come to Jesus, asking for a sign: “And straightway He entered into a ship with His disciples, and came into the parts of Dalmanutha, and the Pharisees came forth, and began to question with Him, seeking of Him a sign from Heaven, tempting Him. And He sighed deeply in His spirit, and saith, Why doth this generation seek after a sign? verily I say unto you, There shall no sign be given unto this generation. And He left them, and entering into the ship again departed to the other side.” Instead of asking what He had to say, they tried to trick Him into proving Himself to them. Such is the pride and foolishness of religion! God was there with them, as they had been told would happen and which their own Scriptures verified. They wanted control! They did not intend to be controlled by God’s Word. This is always the way with religion. All who are willing to hear and learn what God has to say will identify with the hymn, “Teach Me, O Lord, Thy Way of Truth.” It will be our prayer and purpose: “Teach me, O Lord, Your way of truth,  and from it I will not depart; that I may steadfastly obey, give me an understanding heart. In Your commandments make me walk, for in Your law my joy shall be; give me a heart that loves Your will, from discontent and envy free. Your Word sheds light upon my path; a shining light, it guides my feet; Your righteous judgments to observe, my solemn vow I now repeat. Your wondrous testimonies, Lord, my soul will keep and greatly praise; Your Word, by faithful lips proclaimed, to simplest minds the truth conveys. I thirst for Your commandments, Lord, and for Your mercy press my claim; O look on me and show the grace displayed to all who love Your name.” Selah! If we spent as much time discovering and applying what God has to say as we do to defending our religious ideas, there would be real Spiritual experience for us, each day of our lives. The religious leaders wouldn’t listen to Him, “And He left them!     Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

