Two Aspects of Love

it is an amazing thing that when we knew little or nothing about God, He knew about us and loved us. It’s even more amazing that He knew about our rebellion and willful determination to live life as we pleased and still loved us. Left to ourselves, we would not seek Him. Consequently, He sought us. He revealed Himself by different means. He may have used family, friends, books, article(s), tracts, messages, studies, etc. Above all, it’s His Word reaching us through those various helps. He presented our lost condition, our total inability to help ourselves escape eternal condemnation. He explains that our only hope is in the salvation He offers. He did this at a cost that is beyond our ability to comprehend, all because He loved us. That gift of forgiveness, when we receive Him as Savior and Lord, inspires within us a strong and growing love for Him. As John tells us in I John 4:19, “We love Him, because He first loved us!” Once we receive and respond to that love, we should begin to experience both aspects of loving Him. The easiest and most common aspect of love is to love Him for all of His grace and goodness that He lavishes upon us. However, we would be very remiss if we failed to love Him for Who He is, Almighty God, and what He is! Think about His greatness, His goodness, His perfection, His holiness, His beauty, His grace, His mercy, His wisdom.  These are only a few of the things that should bring from our hearts an overflow of love and admiration for Him. Our hearts might well echo the thoughts in Frederick Whitfield’s hymn, “Oh, How I love Jesus:” “There is a name I love to hear, I love to sing its worth; it sounds like music in my ear, the sweetest name on earth. It tells me of a Savior’s love, Who died to set me free; it tells me of His precious blood, the sinner’s perfect plea. It tells of one Whose loving heart can feel my deepest woe; Who in each sorrow bears a part that none can bear below. O how I love Jesus, O how I love Jesus,  O how I love Jesus, because He first loved me!” Selah! The highest love of a redeemed heart is loving worship and admiration of God. The byproduct of that kind of love is overwhelming gratitude and loving appreciation that He would express His love and kindness to the likes of us.    Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

