A Matter of Control

We want to be in control. There are some things that we can legitimately control and we should take charge of these things. There are, however, many areas when control means: I want my way; I’ll decide how I shall live and behave. This usually, if not always, leads to serious problems. The most serious problems come when I am confronted with the gospel, see my need to receive Jesus as Savior and Lord and decide to respond. The catch is that I want my life to be better, or I want to escape Hell, but I want to do it on my terms. I’ll take the offer of salvation but I will control how I shall live. Although it may not be stated or sharply discerned, we are telling God what we want. It doesn’t work that way! When we come to Christ, we relinquish the right of self-control. We are to repent, turn from our sin(s) and surrender to His control. It will take time but we will more and more surrender to His will, guidance and wisdom. Any supposed conversion that doesn’t result in that kind of life is not genuine conversion! At conversion, the Holy Spirit, using God’s Word, will begin a life-long process of controlling us and purifying our lives in holiness. This is what “temperance” means. It’s defined as “self-control.” That simply means that we yield to the Spirit’s control of ourselves. True faith (trust, belief) is willing to trust God’s control. “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.” (Romans 12:1-2). “Only to be what he wants me to be, every moment of every day, yielded completely to Jesus alone, each step of this Pilgrim way. Just to be clay in the Potter’s hands, only to do as His will commands. Only to be what He wants me to be, every moment of every day.” (From “Every Moment of Every Day,”-by Norman J. Clayton). Selah! Jesus gave His life for us; how can we not give our life to Him?   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

 

2 thoughts on “A Matter of Control

  1. I just had an experience this week that today’s post reminded me of. Our house, in Maine, is for sale and I didn’t want to have to keep the heat on in the winter. There’s a long story with that, but my point is that I had been praying, asking God to bring someone to buy it and love it like we do. One day I got a revelation to “give it over to the Lord”. Now I had been praying rather fervently and anxious for the house to sell, and the day I gave it over to Him, I received peace that I live with today. Nothing else has changed. You covered the personal control thing excellently! There are also people who love to control others. That’s a different subject. I remember telling people; “There’s only one God, and you’re not it.”

    Blessings to you and Jan.

    Dallas

Leave a Reply

