Disarming Distress

If we know Jesus as Savior and Lord, we need not succumb to distress. (See yesterday’s article for context). How can we know peace in trials, problems, and burdens? First and foremost, we must be constantly cultivating our relationship with Him. We need to know Him better and better. We need to learn unconditional trust, to love and trust Him, no matter what we experience. We need to look to Him, in His Word, for guidance and direction for all decisions. What does He want, not what do we want, should be the basis for our decisions. Friends, and brothers and sisters in Christ, will often try to involve us in their plans and projects. We should learn to say, “I can’t commit to that,” unless we have a definite leading from the Lord that we should do what is being asked of us. A good working principle is that the need is not the call! Another guideline is to recognize our God-given gifts and abilities and not sign on for things beyond how God has equipped us. (One exception might be to help with a short term emergency. However, be sure it is both an emergency and short term). When God wants us to serve Him in a particular way, there will be an urge, a compulsion, a concern, a desire, and a vision for that work. Watch for open doors and closed doors. If there is not peace in our hearts as to what we should do, wait for further guidance, seek Godly counsel. If we are truly in His will, there will be peace and contentment. The “bottom line” is: “Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct thy paths” (Proverbs 3:5-6). John E. Bode gives us a prayer in his hymn, “O Jesus, I Have Promised,” that we would be well advised to make our own prayer: “O Jesus, I have promised to serve Thee to the end; be Thou forever near me, my Master and my Friend;  I shall not fear the battle if Thou art by my side, nor wander from the pathway if Thou wilt be my Guide. Oh, let me hear Thee speaking in accents clear and still, I dare not trust my judgment: Thy way shall be my will; Oh, speak to reassure me, to hasten or control; Oh, speak, and help me listen, Thou Guardian of my soul. O Jesus, Thou hast promised to all who follow Thee that where Thou art in glory there shall Thy servant be; and Jesus, I have promised to serve Thee to the end—Oh, give me grace to follow, my Master and my Friend. Oh, let me see Thy footprints, and in them plant mine own; my hope to follow duly is in Thy strength alone; Oh, guide me, call me, draw me, uphold me to the end; and then in Heav’n receive me, my Savior and my Friend.” Selah! Love Him, trust Him, listen to Him, follow His guidelines and rest in Him and disarm distress!   Ron

Questions? E-mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

