Do You Use Seasoning?

Yesterday, we thought on the damage our words can do. We brought out how God can enable us to “reign in” our tongues. Prayer and applying Scriptural principles can head off the “volcanic explosion.” However, what is restrained needs also to be replaced. Just as our speech can be destructive and corrupt, it can be a blessing. In the same way that seasoning enhances food, “Spiritual seasoning” can enhance the lives of those listening. How does this work?  In Colossians 4:6, Paul was inspired to explain this to the church there (and to us): “Let your speech be alway with grace, seasoned with salt.” God’s grace is needed and it can teach us what to say and what not to say. When we know what to say, we need to salt it. Jesus told His own: “Ye are the salt of the earth!” (From Matthew 5:13). Salt makes us thirst. (What we say should create thirst for God). It gives flavor. (What we say should add zest to people’s lives). Salt heals. (We should speak healing words). Salt preserves. (Our words should help preserve people from giving in to hopelessness). Ask yourself: “Do I use seasoning with my words?” “Lord, speak to me that I may speak in living echoes of Your tone. As you have sought, so let me seek Your erring children, lost and lone. O lead me, Lord, that I may lead the wandering and the wavering feet. O feed me, Lord, that I may feed  Your hungering ones with manna sweet. O teach me, Lord, that I may teach the precious truths which You impart. And wing my words that they may reach the hidden depths of many a heart. O fill me with Your fullness, Lord, until my very heart o’erflow in kindling thought and glowing word, Your love to tell, Your praise to show.” So prayed Frances Ridley Havergal, in her hymn, “Lord, Speak to Me That I May Speak.” Selah! We might well pray the same prayer and let God’s Word govern our tongues in answer to our prayers.   Ron

Questions? E-mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Do You Use Seasoning?

  1. People in Jesus’ time mixed salt with dung, to make fire. In essence, the Holy Spirit permeates our souls that have been filled with our dung (iniquities), and sets them on fire for Him.

Leave a Reply

