From Background to Foreground

Is our experience of Jesus a matter of “when we get around to it?” Is there a subtle thought that “I’m really busy but I’ll try to get my “devotions” in? Do we major on the minor when we should major on what really matters? Is God in the background, given little thought? Do we actually try to “tuck in” almighty God? Our experience of Jesus will never be vibrant, exciting, fulfilling, and thrilling until we clear away the obstructions of a busy life and restore Him to His rightful place in the foreground of our lives! He is altogether important above any competing demands for our attention. If people observe us closely, will they see Jesus as the supreme love of our lives or will it seem to them that we give Him an occasional nod? Satan works diligently to keep our minds and emotions centered on all we have to do. Activity can blind us to the reality of a personal relationship with God that will bless us and impact our lives and the lives of others. In II Corinthians 4:6, Paul reminds us: “For God, who commanded the light to shine out of darkness, hath shined in our hearts, to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.” Is He our major focus? William C. Martin’s hymn, “Still Sweeter Every Day,” gives voice to beholding His glory: “To Jesus ev’ry day I find my heart is closer drawn; He’s fairer than the glory of the gold and purple dawn; He’s all my fancy pictured in its fairest dreams and more; each day He grows still sweeter than He was the day before. His glory broke upon me when I saw Him from afar; He’s fairer than the lily, brighter than the morning star; He fills and satisfies my longing spirit o’er and o’er; each day He grows still sweeter than He was the day before. My heart is sometimes heavy, but He comes with sweet relief; He folds me to his bosom when I droop with blighting grief, I love the Christ Who all my burdens in His body bore; each day, He grows still sweeter than He was the day before. The half cannot be fancied, this side the golden shore; O there He’ll be still sweeter than He ever was before!” Selah! Behold His glory!  Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

 

One thought on “From Background to Foreground

Leave a Reply

