Activated Truth

A person could read a book on travel. It could give pictures, authentic information, explanation, directions, maps, etc. It could share experiences of people who have traveled. It could show how one could get the most for his or her money. However, until that person prepares to travel and then actually travels, that book is simply interesting and accurate. It hasn’t made a difference in the reader’s life, even though believed completely. Failure to experience travel may not make a huge difference in one’s life. To read the Bible, believe it, and not act on what you read makes an eternal difference! I wonder how many believe the Bible to be actual Truth, without acting on that Truth. Christians can be deceived into believing the Scriptures as they would believe any reliable book, but never experience what that Book offers. The Word of God is first to inform and then to be implemented. In II Timothy 3:15, after Paul told Timothy that the Holy Scriptures: “.are able to make thee wise unto salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus,” he added in verses 16-17: “All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: that the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.” In other words, activating God’s Word in our lives, learning, applying and obeying it, we mature in our life in Christ. We are blessed and we are used to bless others. The hymn, “Teach Me, O Lord, Thy Way of Truth,” expresses how this works in our lives: “Teach me, O Lord, Your way of Truth,  and from it I will not depart;  that I may steadfastly obey, give me an understanding heart. In Your commandments make me walk, for in Your law my joy shall be; give me a heart that loves Your will, from discontent and envy free. Your Word sheds light upon my path; a shining light, it guides my feet; your righteous judgments to observe, my solemn vow I now repeat. Your wondrous testimonies, Lord, my soul will keep and greatly praise; Your Word, by faithful lips proclaimed, to simplest minds the Truth conveys. I thirst for Your commandments, Lord, and for Your mercy press my claim; O look on me and show the grace displayed to all who love Your name.” Selah! Never be only an arm chair traveler; move out and take the trip!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

One thought on “Activated Truth

Leave a Reply

