An Empty Altar?-Part 2

The Old Testament sacrificial system called for a spotless lamb without blemish. The lamb had to be placed on the altar and had no “say” in the matter. It was put to death, never to live again. Under “Grace,” when we choose to receive God’s free gift of salvation, by receiving Jesus as Savior and Lord, we are perfected forever: “For by one offering He hath perfected for ever them that are sanctified (Hebrews 10:14). So we become a perfect offering in our “position” or “standing.” If this has been our experience, we willingly place ourselves, our whole being on the altar as a “living” sacrifice. However, although we have been pronounced perfect in “standing,” we are not perfect in “practice.” This is where Galatians 2:20 comes in: “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave Himself for me.” I have been crucified with Christ. This was done for me when God knew, in eternity past, that I would receive salvation. This judicial “placing” is active in the present, extending from the moment of Spiritual rebirth. “I have been” and “I am being,” crucified (I was put to death; I am dying to the old way that was mine before I was saved. I am now experiencing “the new and living way)! As the old way is dying out, it is being replaced with holiness of life. Our part is to stay on the altar. Our altar must never be empty! If we start to slip or slide off, God has flesh hooks to prod us back on. One is conviction; the other is chastisement! Sometimes, He uses both! Learning to remain firmly on the altar brings the fire of God on the sacrifice, purifying the offering. The purified sacrifice experiences profound blessings and blesses others! Two other stanzas in E. A. Hoffman’s hymn, “Is Your All on the Altar,” remind us: “Oh, we never can know what the Lord will bestow of the blessings for which we have prayed, till our body and soul  He doth fully control, and our all on the altar is laid. Is your all on the altar of sacrifice laid? Your heart does the Spirit control?  You can only be blest, and have peace and sweet rest, as you yield Him your body and soul!” Selah! Those who have been born again have, or will, put themselves on the altar and are learning to yield to God!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

 
2 thoughts on “An Empty Altar?-Part 2

  1. I was struck with the statement “Our alter should never be empty”. That is profound and I like it.
    thanks for these two articles about Empty Alters.

Leave a Reply

