The Ministry of Tears

Tears bring to mind sorrow and grief. Nevertheless, tears have certain important ministries to one who is born again. 1). Tears often move hearts to repentance. II Corinthians 7:10 points this out. “For godly sorrow worketh repentance to salvation .” 2). Tears of concern may yield results. Psalm 126:6 states: “He that goeth forth and weepeth, bearing precious seed, shall doubtless come again with rejoicing, bringing his sheaves with him.” 3). Tears afford relief. II Corinthians 1:4 explains: “Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God.” When we turn to God, we are comforted by God. We can testify to others that God is able to help them, just as He helped us! 4). Tears may lead to revival! Tears over the Laodicean lethargy that defines too much of His church in our day, if they prompt fervent prayer, may move God to revive us: “Wilt Thou not revive us again: that Thy people may rejoice in Thee?” Charlotte Elliott’s hymn, “Come to Me,” speaks of the ministries of tears:” With tearful eyes I look around; life seems a dark and stormy sea; yet, midst the gloom, I hear a sound, a heavenly whisper, “Come to Me.” It tells me of a place of rest; It tells me where my soul may flee:  O to the weary, faint, oppressed, how sweet the bidding, “Come to Me.” When the poor heart with anguish learns that earthly props resigned must be, and from each broken cistern turns, it hears the accents, “Come to Me.” When against sin I strive in vain, and cannot from its yoke get free, sinking beneath the heavy chain, the words arrest me, “Come to Me.” When nature shudders, loath to part from all I love, enjoy, and see; when a faint chill steals o’er my heart, a sweet voice utters, “Come to Me. “Come, for all else must fail and die; earth is no resting-place for thee, Heavenward direct thy weeping eye,  I am thy Portion; come to Me.” O voice of mercy! voice of love! in conflict, grief, and agony, support me, cheer me from above, and gently whisper, “Come to Me.” Selah! Let tears do their purifying work; dry eyes may reflect our hearts’ indifference to what matters most!     Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

 

One thought on “The Ministry of Tears

  1. This is beautiful! I have found that, as I have aged, things move me to tears more than when I was younger. I do remember when I first started in ministry, I was moved to tears while praying for the salvation of a young man I met in Michigan. He got saved and those tears turned to exceeding joy.
    Thank you for these thoughts. They are important for today

Leave a Reply

