Reasons for Rejoicing

For those who are born again, there are countless reasons for rejoicing. I’m not thinking about things like food, clothing, shelter, and many other blessings. For these, we should be very grateful. For the genuinely converted believer, here is a sampling of reasons for rejoicing: Jesus was crucified for us! He loved us enough to allow His creatures to do that. He enters in to a personal relationship with us. He forgives us for and cleanses us from our sin(s). He listens to us and talks with us. He gives us counsel, training, guidance, correction, support, comfort, grace, peace, contentment, purpose, strength in trials, a guarantee of an eternal home with Himself, assurance of all evil gone forever, ultimate perfect health, and much more. A great many more could be mentioned. However, what I seek to emphasize is that our God reveals Himself to us, involves Himself with us, fellowships with us, works in us and through us and showers us with manifold blessings. Paul was inspired to speak of this in Ephesians 1:3: “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who hath blessed us with all spiritual blessings in heavenly places in Christ.” In the hymn, “He Abides,” Herbert Buffum rejoices for God’s blessings and so can we who know the Savior. He wrote: I’m rejoicing night and day as I walk the narrow way, for the hand of God in all my life I see; and the reason of my bliss, yes, the secret all is this: that the Comforter abides with me. Once my heart was full of sin, once I had no peace within, till I heard how Jesus died upon the tree; then I fell down at His feet, and there came a peace so sweet; now the Comforter abides with me. He is with me everywhere, and He knows my every care;  I’m as happy as a bird and just as free; for the Spirit has control; Jesus satisfies my soul, since the Comforter abides with me. There’s no thirsting for the things of the world—they’ve taken wings; long ago I gave them up, and instantly all my night was turned to day, all my burdens rolled away; now the Comforter abides with me. He abides, He abides; hallelujah, He abides with me! I’m rejoicing night and day as I walk the narrow way, for the Comforter abides with me.” Selah! Ponder the following and rejoice! “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, which according to His abundant mercy hath begotten us again unto a lively hope by the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance incorruptible, and undefiled, and that fadeth not away, reserved in heaven for you, who are kept by the power of God through faith unto salvation ready to be revealed in the last time. Wherein ye greatly rejoice, though now for a season, if need be, ye are in heaviness through manifold temptations: that the trial of your faith, being much more precious than of gold that perisheth, though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honour and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ: Whom having not seen, ye love; in Whom, though now ye see Him not, yet believing, ye rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory” (I Peter 1:3-8).   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com
One thought on “Reasons for Rejoicing

Leave a Reply

