Spiritual Shortfall

There are two major ways to experience spiritual shortfall! The first one has to do with the unsaved, those who are spiritually lost. Paul speaks of these in Romans 3:23: “For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God.” No effort on the part of anyone can enable them to escape this shortfall. There is a limitless gap between unsaved people and God that can only be bridged by Jesus’ death on the cross. The second type of spiritual shortfall is experienced by those who learn about Jesus’ death and come to believe Biblical truth and end their pursuit of God with acknowledgement of the facts. In other words, they are depending on the knowledge of the truth for salvation. They fall short of the next step; they need to surrender and yield to Him as Savior, Lord and Master. They are saved by Him! By responding to Him, receiving Him, opening their lives to Him, He brings them to Himself! He gets them over the shortfall. We go beyond the “gap” to the “gate.” However, it was never intended that we should sit at the gate! It is God’s intention that we enter into a deep, rich experience of His manifold grace. Paul prayed about that in Ephesians 1:16-18. He told them, I: “cease not to give thanks for you, making mention of you in my prayers; that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give unto you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Him: the eyes of your understanding being enlightened; that ye may know what is the hope of His calling, and what the riches of the glory of His inheritance in the saints.” If we have truly come through the gate and entered in to new life in Christ, we have the remainder of our lives to enjoy the revealing of God’s wonders of grace. Fanny Crosby wrote, “I Am Thine, O Lord.” In it, she voices the cry of one who has gone through and beyond the gate: “I am Thine, O Lord, I have heard Thy voice, and it told Thy love to me; but I long to rise in the arms of faith and be closer drawn to Thee. Consecrate me now to Thy service, Lord, by the pow’r of grace divine; let my soul look up with a steadfast hope, and my will be lost in Thine. Oh, the pure delight of a single hour that before Thy throne I spend, when I kneel in prayer, and with Thee, my God I commune as friend with friend. There are depths of love that I cannot know till I cross the narrow sea; there are heights of joy that I may not reach till I rest in peace with Thee. Draw me nearer, nearer blessed Lord, to the cross where Thou hast died; draw me nearer, nearer, nearer blessed Lord, to Thy precious, bleeding side.” Selah! Facts are not just simply to agree with, but to be acted on!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com
One thought on “Spiritual Shortfall

Leave a Reply

