The Wealthiest People on Earth

Recently, I heard a news report that we now have more billionaires than we have ever had. Financially, that must be a nice experience. However, wealth brings with it a host of problems and cares. Don’t forget, it can and has been lost, many times suddenly. Even when there are few problems, wealthy people can be enduring empty lives. When we leave this earth, we take not one cent with us. If we had all the wealth in the world, we couldn’t buy our way into Heaven. In Luke 12:15, we read: “And he said unto them, Take heed, and beware of covetousness: for a man’s life consisteth not in the abundance of the things which he possesseth.” The only true treasure is Jesus! If we have Him, we are rich indeed! If we do not have Him, we are the most bankrupt people in all creation! Paul told us that Jesus is made unto us “wisdom.” The writer of Proverbs tells us this about wisdom: “Happy is the man that findeth wisdom….for the merchandise of it is better than the merchandise of silver, and the gain thereof than fine gold. She is more precious than rubies: and all the things thou canst desire are not to be compared unto her.” The underlying point is that this is exactly what Jesus is to those who know Him as Savior and Lord! Rhea F. Miller wrote, “I’d Rather Have Jesus.” This hymn gives voice to what a true child of God means with all his or her heart: “I’d rather have Jesus than silver or gold;  I’d rather be His than have riches untold; I’d rather have Jesus than houses or lands. I’d rather be led by His nail pierced hand. I’d rather have Jesus than men’s applause; I’d rather be faithful to His dear cause; I’d rather have Jesus than worldwide fame. I’d rather be true to His holy name. He’s fairer than lilies of rarest bloom; He’s sweeter than honey from out the comb; He’s all that my hungering spirit needs. I’d rather have Jesus and let Him lead, than to be the king of a vast domain or be held in sin’s dread sway. I’d rather have Jesus than anything this world affords today.” Selah! Remember that “….where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.” (From Matthew 6:21). Let’s be sure that He is our greatest treasure, our hearts’ focus!  Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

One thought on “The Wealthiest People on Earth

Leave a Reply

