From the Pit to the Palace

Three of the Devil’s most effective snares are despair, discouragement and depression. No matter what prompts these “feelings,” they are difficult to overcome. We feel like we are hopeless and helpless; we feel like giving up. Things couldn’t get any worse (or could they)? We feel like we are “in a pit” with no escape. No matter what brought about our distressing experience(s), there is hope and help for all who know Jesus as Savior and Lord. For the true Christian, nothing can touch him or her unless it first passes through the permissive will of God. If God causes it or allows it, there is a wise and loving purpose! This is where trust comes into play. While God is concerned about our problems and hurts with us, He is more concerned with our response to our problems. Sooner or later we will learn that He knows best! Romans 8:28 reminds us: ‘…. that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to His purpose. Meanwhile we need not become “bogged down” in the swamps of suffering. There is help! If we shift our focus from our immediate situation and focus on all of our blessings, there will be encouragement. As we give thanks (from the heart), gratitude will gain ground and grumbling will lose its grip. Paul was inspired to write in Philippians 4:4: “Rejoice in the Lord alway: and again I say, Rejoice.” Fanny Crosby’s hymn, “All the Way, My Savior Leads Me” testifies to triumph over trials: “All the way my Savior leads me, what have I to ask beside? Can I doubt His tender mercy, Who through life has been my Guide? Heav’nly peace, divinest comfort, here by faith in Him to dwell! For I know, whate’er befall me, Jesus doeth all things well; for I know, whate’er befall me, Jesus doeth all things well. All the way my Savior leads me, cheers each winding path I tread, gives me grace for every trial, feeds me with the living Bread.” This kind of response will take us from the pit of discouragement to the palace of delight! Selah! Instead of being overcome by circumstances, God can lift you above your circumstances.”  Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

One thought on “From the Pit to the Palace

Leave a Reply

