Spiritual Atrophy

Webster defines atrophy as “a wasting away, a failure to grow.” This is sad in a human body; it is way more tragic in the life of a born again Christian! Looking around at God’s people today, one wonders if too many members of His body are experiencing atrophy. Read of the excitement, confidence, bravery, boldness and power of the early disciples and then look around today. It’s as if many Christians have been tranquilized. Spiritual fervor has given way to routine or to just plain habit. Caught up in day to day cares and responsibilities, we have become “numbed” to the promptings of the Holy Spirit. Just as improper diet and lack of exercise can wreck our physical health, lack of Spiritual nourishment and exercise will undermine our Spiritual vitality. Paul’s inspired explanation of the outcome of full commitment and Spiritual transformation (see Romans 12:1-2) includes being “….fervent in spirit; serving the Lord; rejoicing in hope; patient in tribulation; continuing instant in prayer....” (From Romans 12:11-12). Let me share a poem called, “The Left Love:” “I never planned it to happen, it just gradually took place; I didn’t realize I was failing to daily seek His face. I had many responsibilities, caught up in the frantic pace: little by little I forgot to draw on His most wondrous grace. I never meant it to happen, to neglect His Word and prayer, so very busy and distracted I didn’t notice; was wholly unaware. Then those haunting words, “Thou hast left thy first love,” jarred my cold heart; but His words of love touched me; “Come back, make a fresh start. Remember, repent and return,” He said; “on the altar rekindle the fire; put aside the distractions and duties; make Me your Supreme Desire.” I will adjust my priorities, put Him first in my day; richly express my love to Him, listen to His Word and pray. I want to walk in His Presence, listen to what He has to say; give Him my faithful obedience, never again from Him to stray.” Does this poem reflect your heart’s concern? Selah! May William P. Mackay’s prayer be ours: “Revive us again; fill each heart with Thy love; May each soul be rekindled with fire from above.” (From the hymn: “Revive Us Again).” God is ready, if we are!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

One thought on “Spiritual Atrophy

Leave a Reply

