The Way of the Will

God allows us to make many choices. The most important one of all is the choice to receive or reject Jesus as Savior and Lord. Before we think on that, let’s give some thought to our wills. We can be strong willed or weak willed; we can be self willed. What determines the kind of will that each of us have? I suggest that what most influences our wills determines the kind of will that is ours. A friend, loved one, employer (or even an enemy) can strongly impact our wills. However, let’s take a closer look. Reason can impact our wills or they can be impacted by emotions. Emotions are more apt to influence our wills than anything else. That is a major concern! Our wills should be guided by reason, by principles, by character, etc. Going by “feelings” has consequences. We will make bad choices, lack stability, lose credibility, and lose self respect. Good emotions are the result of wise choices, not the cause of them! The most wonderful emotions of all are those that follow our doing the will of God. His will is found in His Word. We must will to do His will, no matter how we “feel!” Submitting to God’s will begins with when we will to receive Jesus as Savior and Lord. What Paul was inspired to tell Timothy in I Timothy 2:4 is God’s will for all! “Who will have all men to be saved, and to come unto the knowledge of the truth.” This is a commitment to learn to let Him rule in the remainder of our lives, regardless of “feelings.” If we go by “feelings,” we’ll back away when we “feel the heat.” If we exercise our wills to refuse to give in to any negative emotions, that means that we’ll trust Him, no matter what! Spiritual stability and maturity will follow and we will be wonderfully blessed. Genuine conversions are never reversed! Mrs. C. H. Morris in her hymn, “Sweet Will of God,” helps us understand this kind of commitment: “My stubborn will at last hath yielded; I would be Thine, and Thine alone; and this the prayer my lips are bringing, Lord, let in me Thy will be done. I’m tired of sin, footsore and weary, the darksome path hath dreary grown; but now a light has ris’n to cheer me;  I find in Thee my Star, my Sun. Thy precious will, O conqu’ring Savior, doth now embrace and compass me; all discords hushed, my peace a river, my soul, a prisoned bird set free. Shut in with Thee, O Lord, forever, my wayward feet no more to roam; what pow’r from Thee my soul can sever? The center of God’s will my home. Sweet will of God, still fold me closer, till I am wholly lost in Thee.” Selah! For a child of God, His will becomes our will, until we are wholly lost in Him!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 
           

One thought on “The Way of the Will

  1. Amen! It is easy to turn to God when we need something, but how joyful it is to turn to God just because we love Him.

Leave a Reply

