The Four “P’s” of Salvation

 

 I’m returning to a subject that I have dealt with a few times before. The reason for doing this is that too much evangelism content is anemic. Failing to provide a potential convert with a full picture of Christ’s claims may have produced more “tares” than “wheat.” Far worse than that is that some may be persuaded that they are saved, when actually they only have had an intellectual conversion, not a Spiritual one. To help clarify what it means to receive Jesus as Savior and Lord, let me give the four P’s involved in a genuine conversion. 1. Position: If individuals have truly asked for forgiveness and salvation and asked Jesus to save them and be the Lord of their lives, they will learn that they have a position, a “standing.” “Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new” (II Corinthians 5:17). “In Christ!” We are clothed, enveloped and covered, in His righteousness. That is how God sees us. He sees us as completely righteous. However, underneath that covering, we are anything but righteous. That brings us to 2. Pursuit: When one is “in Christ,” there will be a pursuit of holiness of life. This is inevitable for all who are truly saved. “Follow (pursue) peace with all men, and holiness, without which no man shall see the Lord” (Hebrews 12:14). Once God grants us a “standing,” He goes to work on our “state,” our actual daily lives and behavior. That brings us to 3. Progress: God doesn’t make us perfect in a moment, but perfects us throughout our lives. Some will grow slowly, some more rapidly. The point is that there will be growth and progress. “But grow in grace, and in the knowledge of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ.” (From II Peter 3:15). We do not drift; we are moving toward the ultimate goal: 4: Perfection: There will come a time when we will be perfect! “For whom He did foreknow, He also did predestinate to be conformed to the image of His Son!” (From Romans 8:29). We have been saved from the penalty of sin: we are being saved from its power; we will be saved from its presence! Johnson Oatman, Jr. gives us a glimpse into the life of a true Christian’s heart: ‘I’m pressing on the upward way, new heights I’m gaining every day; still praying as I’m onward bound, “Lord, plant my feet on higher ground.” My heart has no desire to stay where doubts arise and fears dismay; though some may dwell where these abound, my prayer, my aim, is higher ground. I want to live above the world, though Satan’s darts at me are hurled; for faith has caught the joyful sound, the song of saints on higher ground. I want to scale the utmost height and catch a  gleam of glory bright; but still I’ll pray till heav’n I’ve found, “Lord, plant my feet on higher ground.” Lord, lift me up and let me stand, by faith, on Heaven’s tableland, a higher plane than I have found;  Lord, plant my feet on higher ground.” Selah! From birth, to Bible, to behavior, to blessing! That about sums it up. If you are truly born again, look for the four “P’s” in your life! They will be evident.  Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

