When God Lets You Hurt…..

God has many times healed and/or helped. There are times, however, when our appeals seem to fall on deaf ears or when our inward hurts seem to be ignored. This raises some questions: Would God ignore us? Why? If we know Him and love Him, why would He let us hurt? Let me ask some questions. What if God granted our every request? Do we think that God is only a celestial genie and we have but to rub the magic lamp of prayer and God will cater to our expectations? Are we so sure of ourselves as to what is right that God has to go by our “wise” directions? Do loving parents always say “yes” to all of their children’s immature begging? Do they not ever say “No!” or ‘Wait?” Is the request ever subject to any condition? “If you will learn to behave as you should, then you might have what you want, but not until!” Does a child always trust his or her parents? It may take some time to learn that usually parents know best. Many children, later in life, have looked back and said, “My parents were right; I should have trusted their judgment.” God always knows best! Can we learn to trust Him when we don’t understand or get what we want? Paul learned to trust. He gives an illustration from his own experience. It’s found in II Corinthians 12:7-10: And lest I should be exalted above measure through the abundance of the revelations, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure. For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me.  And He said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for My strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.” Simply stated, that’s called “trust.” In the hymn, “How Firm a Foundation,” (“K” in Rippon’s Selection of Hymns), we find these insightful thoughts: “When through the deep waters I call you to go, the rivers of sorrow shall not overflow, for I will be with you in trouble to bless, and sanctify to you your deepest distress. When through fiery trials your pathway shall lie, My grace all-sufficient shall be your supply; the flame shall not hurt you; I only design your dross to consume and your gold to refine.” Selah! Who is anywhere near as trustworthy as He, Who Loved us enough to die for us?   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

One thought on “When God Lets You Hurt…..

  1. There has never been a hurt that we have, that Jesus didn’t feel in His life on earth. He experienced it all, and bore it all for our sins. What we feel is just a small amount, compared to what He bore. Now, we carry our crosses that draw us closer to Him. I am filled with awe when I think of how this is Gods plan, but we have no idea the love He has put into His plan. Have a wonderful and Blessed Father’s Day, Pastor Ron. My best to Jan, too.

Leave a Reply

