The Test, The Trial, The Triumph

Being in the midst of suffering, it seems like it will never end. However, Peter reminds us: “….now for a season, if need be, ye are in heaviness through manifold temptations.” (From I Peter 1:6). In II Corinthians 4:17, Paul (who knew what it is to suffer) states: “For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory.” Some Christians suffer only for a short time; others suffer much and long. In either situation, a short time or a long time is only “for a season” or “for a moment,” in the context of eternity. I understand that knowing this Truth doesn’t make suffering easier. It does, however, give us the eternal perspective. When we look back from Heaven, it will be recognized as a very short time. But, here and now, we have to go through it! Why? It is certainly to ascertain if our faith (our trust) is genuine. It may also be to witness to those watching us that His grace is sufficient. It also will strengthen our hearts and faith to know that He is with us all the way, helping us to “pass the test.” The firmness of our faith leads to a huge reward! What can we do to strengthen and increase the firmness of our faith right now, before the test and the trial? Prayer, hours in the Word of God, reading biographies of others who have gone through severe trials and testing and have triumphed. Even the right music can help us stand firm. One such hymn, “Jesus Is All I Need,” comes from the pen of James Rowe: “When I am burdened or weary and sad, Jesus is all I need. Never He fails to uplift and make glad. Jesus is all I need. When I am swept by the tempests of life, Jesus is all I need. Peace He imparts whatsoever the strife. Jesus is all I need. When through the valley He calls me to go, Jesus is all I’ll need. He will be with me to cheer me, I know. Jesus is all I’ll  need.  All that I need He will always be, all that I need till His face I see. All that I need thro’ eternity, Jesus is all I need.” Selah! Jude gives us a thought in Verse 20: “….building up yourselves on your most holy faith, praying in the Holy Ghost.” That’s what we must do, if faith is to triumph in the fire! Start today (or continue) to use all the means God gives to strengthen and “steel” your faith. “Now thanks be unto God, which always causeth us to triumph in Christ!”      Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

One thought on “The Test, The Trial, The Triumph

Leave a Reply

