Changed Mission Outlook

One of the most fascinating changes that true conversion brings is our outlook on missions. For many, until they came to know Jesus as Savior and Lord, for someone to pack up all and take themselves, and usually their families, to some remote, primitive and often dangerous place was not the smartest thing to do. Why not leave these people in their ignorance and superstition? Why not concentrate on right here in our own country where it might do more good? When we are born again, our view of missions is profoundly changed. There is a reason for this change. It’s because we come to realize that we ourselves were trapped in spiritual ignorance and many times in superstition. We were lost and without hope for eternity and if people hadn’t reached out to us, we could have ended up in Hell forever! We find that Jesus paid a price beyond comprehension to rescue us. We learn that He did this because He loved us! His love, however, did not stop with us. He loved people all over this world and intended that they be offered the gift of salvation. The fact is that all who have received Jesus have a mission! Jesus spelled this out in Acts 1:8: “But ye shall receive power, after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you: and ye shall be witnesses unto me both in Jerusalem, and in all Judaea, and in Samaria, and unto the uttermost part of the earth.” We have a commission to share the Word of Life and a responsibility to pray and support those who go where we are unable to go, unwilling to go or are not called to go.” If we love Him, we must love those whom He loves. Mary Brown and Charles Prior, in their hymn, “I’ll Go Where You Want Me to Go,” express the response that God expects: It may not be on the mountain’s height, or over the stormy sea; it may not be at the battle’s front my Lord will have need of me. But if by a still, small voice He calls to paths I do not know, I’ll answer, dear Lord, with my hand in Thine“I’ll go where You want me to go. Perhaps today there are loving words which Jesus would have me speak; there may be now, in the paths of sin, some wand’rer whom I should seek. O Savior, if Thou wilt be my Guide, tho’ dark and rugged the way, my voice shall echo the message sweet, I’ll say what you want me to say. There’s surely somewhere a lowly place in earth’s harvest fields so wide where I may labor thro’ life’s short day for Jesus, the Crucified; so, trusting my all to Thy tender care, and knowing Thou lovest me, I’ll do Thy will with a heart sincere, I’ll be what You want me to be. I’ll go where You want me to go, dear Lord, Over mountain, or plain, or sea. I’ll say what You want me to say, dear Lord. I’ll be what You want me to be.” Selah! We are a loving family! We need to give the message to others who may become a part of our family.     Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

One thought on “Changed Mission Outlook

Leave a Reply

