Changed Pleasures

We sought pleasure in sin before we experienced Spiritual rebirth. Yes, Hebrews 11:25 tells us of: “the pleasures of sin” and then adds: “for a season.” The pleasures of sin do not last. They do not satisfy. We strive for more and more and keep coming up empty. Much of our so called fun actually damages us and sometimes ends up causing us to die. In fact, we seek this “fun” to avoid coming to grips with the void in our hearts. The irony is that Christians’ pleasures seem boring to the minds of unsaved people. However, when someone receives Jesus as Lord and Savior, the old sinful pleasures lose their appeal and we find real pleasure in Godly living and behavior. Psalm 16:11 speaks of this: “Thou wilt shew me the path of life; in Thy Presence is fullness of joy; at Thy right hand there are pleasures forevermore.” In John 10:10, Jesus tells us: “….I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.” Before we receive our new nature, this doesn’t make sense to us; once we come to Christ, we wonder how we found any pleasure wallowing in the garbage of a fallen world’s idea of fun. If you have been born again, you know what I’m talking about; if you haven’t been, consider the thoughts in Richard Blanchard’s hymn, “Fill My Cup, Lord.” “Like the woman at the well I was seeking for things that could not satisfy; and then I heard my Savior speaking; “draw from My well that never shall run dry.” So, my brother, if the things this world gave you leave hungers that won’t pass away, my blessed Lord will come and save you, if you kneel to Him and humbly pray: fill my cup, Lord–I lift it up, Lord! Come and quench this thirsting of my soul; Bread of Heaven, feed me till I want no more–fill my cup, fill it up and make me whole!” Selah! Happiness depends on what happens, but God’s joy is constant through all of life’s ups and downs! There is even joy for His Presence in trials and sorrow.   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

